Dakota Ojibway Tribal Council

Copyright 2010. DOTC.

Dakota Ojibway Child & Family Services

Board of Directors - Elected Officers

Board of Directors

Ruth Roulette, Long Plain First Nation - Chairperson
Viola Eastman, Canupawakpa Dakota Nation - Vice/Chairperson
Jennifer Bone, Sioux Valley Dakota Nation - Secretary/Treasurer

You can reach DOCFS at:

Dakota Ojibway Child & Family Services
Carberry Office
P.O. Box 310
Carberry, MB  R0K 0H0
Toll Free:  1-877-508-8289
Fax:  1-204-834-2306

Carson Benn, Birdtail Sioux First Nation
Viola Eastman, Canupawakpa Dakota Nation
Representative, Dakota Plains Wahpeton Nation
Ruth Roulette, Long Plain First Nation
Vacant, Roseau River Anishinabe First Nation 
Jennifer Bone, Sioux Valley First Nation
Edith Catcheway, Swan Lake First Nation
Esther Cameron, Elder
Jean Eagle, Elder
Chief Frank Brown, Canupawakpa Dakota Nation, Liaison - DOTC Council of Chiefs

DOCFS is a non-profit, community based organization which provides child protection and family services under the auspices of the Southern First Nation Network of Care. (Southern Authority)

Dakota Ojibway Child and Family Services (DOCFS) was mandated on July 1, 1981 to deliver services to the eight DOTC communities: Birdtail Sioux First Nation, Canupawakpa Dakota Nation, Dakota Plains Wahpeton First Nation, Long Plain First Nation, Roseau River Anishinaabe First Nation, Sioux Valley Dakota Nation and Swan Lake First Nation.

On April 28, 2004, expansion of mandate enabled DOCFS to deliver services to the membership of those eight communities wherever they lived in the Province of Manitoba. There are now fully functioning offices in Brandon, Portage la Prairie and Winnipeg.

On September 1, 2007, Sandy Bay Ojibway First Nation received their own mandate and became an independent agency.  DOCFS now delivers service to seven of the DOTC communities.

DOCFS is governed by a Board of Directors which is comprised of representation from each of the seven DOTC communities.